Skip to content

Black Bean Burritos

June 23, 2011

Today we had vegan black bean burritos for dinner–an old favorite .  I miss that gooey, melted cheesiness of traditional burritos, though, so I tried something a little different today.  I made up a batch of the cheesy vegan sauce I use for the Mac & Cheese dish, poured it over the beans once I dished them onto the tortilla, and EUREKA–it worked!!!  Creamy, cheesy goodness in my burrito.  Mark was not as big of a fan saying that he prefers his burritos more “fresh” tasting.  He thought the cream sauce made it a bit too heavy.  I, on the other hand, adore the oozy, gooey, pungent creaminess of the cheese sauce–it was a step closer to the burritos I would have back home.  I think this cheese sauce would be fabulous in vegan enchiladas too.

The bean filling was made with black beans, onion, garlic, and chopped carrots tossed with cumin, chili, coriander, paprika, and salt.  We made some guacamole, chopped some tomatoes, sprinkled on some cilantro, and poured on some chipotle salsa.  The best vegan burritos I have ever made!  Thanks to the “cheese” sauce.

No comments yet

Leave a comment